Home
Because they're 95% copper. Post-81 pennies are mostly zinc, with an exterior wash of copper. I've been hording them for about twenty years, i.e., whenever I get one in change, it goes in a jug.
Junk copper the new junk silver?

I can't tell ya the last time I saw a pre-64 or whatever quarter. That stuff was soaked up 10 years or whatever ago when silver went ape schit.
You know inflation is bad when our lead and copper has become valuable.
I have to correct my information. I thought it was 82 and below that was nearly 100%.
Hmmmmm, I haven't checked scrap copper prices lately, but maybe I should. I've got quite a pile of old copper water pipe out back.
Originally Posted by Happy_Camper
I have to correct my information. I thought it was 82 and below that was nearly 100%.

I believe 1982 was the transition year, i.e., some 1982 pennies are 95% copper and the rest are mostly zinc.
half-inch washers are 4 cents each at my hardware store, 5cent if you want zinc or galvanized.

just sayin 😃
Great return on a 40 year investment
Well...why'd they ( we) get off copper in the first place?

I smell Jews.
Originally Posted by ribka
Great return on a 40 year investment

Heck, you get them in change for a penny each, even today, although that's much more rare now than a few years ago. Gresham's law in action. Too many people, like me, aren't spending them when they get them in change. They're spending the zinc ones instead.
Was over 3.00 last time I went by the junk yard, brass over 2.00. I need to see about selling, got 300 pounds or so of scrap brass

[Linked Image from i.postimg.cc]
Speaking of silver coins, something that some of you "coin watchers" might not know is that before and during WW II, the nickel was made of zinc. Because zinc was a strategic war material the govt. stopped making the nickel of zinc and changed it to silver. !943 and 1944 nickels were silver.

FWIW.

L.W.