Home
Posted By: smarquez Recommend A Welding Helmet - 08/11/22
I'm a hobby welder and don't want to mess with Harbor Freight anymore. Flux core, MIG, a little stick. I'd like to keep it under $200.
I already have a couple good grinders so I'm halfway there.
Posted By: Valsdad Re: Recommend A Welding Helmet - 08/11/22
Watching this one.
Hobart Inventor or Creator.
Posted By: Valsdad Re: Recommend A Welding Helmet - 08/11/22
Thanks Jim, seems like a really reasonable price, and while I didn't read them yet, the reviews appear mostly positive.
I have one of each.

One is always in my service truck and one is in the shop.

Good value in my opinion.
Posted By: Huncho Re: Recommend A Welding Helmet - 08/11/22
I have heard pretty good things about the Vulcan line of helmets at Harbor Freight. I do have one of their cheaper $40 helmets and won't use it. Still need to buy a better helmet myself.
I have a Jackson Boss floating around in the garage that I have never used, I would sell. Shoot me a PM if interested.
Posted By: hanco Re: Recommend A Welding Helmet - 08/11/22
Jackson pipeliner for 50 years. I ask the welder at work about the auto darkening hoods before he retired. He said those are for pussies. I’d like to try one.
A couple projects ago I discovered I couldn't see the weld line worth a schit so I went looking for a new helmet and cheaters. This clearlight lens thing makes all the difference in the world.

Miller Classic ClearLight Lens 287803 Welding Helmet.

Great Price, Click Here.
Miller digital elite.
Posted By: pullit Re: Recommend A Welding Helmet - 08/11/22
I have a Hobart and a Lincoln Viking and really like them both but if I had to choose, the Lincoln gets the pick for the win. I did catch the Viking on sale or it would have been more than the $200 you set.
I burned my eyes so bad one time that I had to be bandaged shut for 3 days. After that, no more cheap helmets for me
Posted By: colodog Re: Recommend A Welding Helmet - 08/11/22