Home
Posted By: Higginez It’s alive! - 10/02/22
I have always had a thing for tube guitar amps. Through the years I’ve actually built a few.

First was an 18 watt Marshall I built from the ground up. I even bent up the chassis and learned how to dovetail the cabinet.

Second was 59 Bassman reissue that was a basket case. I bought it cheap. No speakers or circuit board, but it had transformers and pots. I handwired it to the original circuit.

A few weeks ago I started playing a bunch and got the hankering for an amp a buddy had back in the day. 1961 Fender Deluxes are running $4k these days so I figured I’d have to build this one. Looking around I discovered they make kits now! Easy button!

As I was putting the last finishing touches on it yesterday I got a call from an old drummer pal asking if I’d be up for some gigs. 31 covers and 6 originals by next weekend. Guess I’ll figure out if the new amp is reliable! LOL

[Linked Image from i.postimg.cc]

The Bassman

Posted By: GRIZZ Re: It’s alive! - 10/02/22
I love hearing those tube amps hum. I have a fender 65 reissue twin reverb 80 watts.

[Linked Image from i.imgur.com]
Posted By: Jcubed Re: It’s alive! - 10/02/22
Cool!
Posted By: GAGoober Re: It’s alive! - 10/02/22
Any difference in sound between a classic older one and a new one?
Posted By: Ghostinthemachine Re: It’s alive! - 10/02/22
Wow that's incredible. Nice work!

My main amp is a 100 watt Fender Twin. You just can't beat the sound of a good tube amp. So rich.
Posted By: Higginez Re: It’s alive! - 10/02/22
Originally Posted by GAGoober

Yeah. They don’t make tubes and capacitors like they used to. You can fake the look and get close to the sound, but a copy will never have the smell of a 60 year old amp from the late 50’s.
Posted By: Geno67 Re: It’s alive! - 10/02/22
Nice work!
Posted By: BuckHaggard Re: It’s alive! - 10/02/22
Really nice Tweed.
Posted By: 257_X_50 Re: It’s alive! - 10/02/22
Originally Posted by Higginez