Home
Posted By: denton Carbon Fiber Barrel Wrap - 12/08/22
Does covering a barrel with carbon fiber actually accomplish anything?
Posted By: smokepole Re: Carbon Fiber Barrel Wrap - 12/08/22
Raises profit margin by 25%.
I have been working with composites this last year. Carbon, basalt , innegra , aramid, kevlar. Fascinating stuff and would like to do one of my old guns just for the experience.
It doesn't conduct heat very well does it?
Posted By: irfubar Re: Carbon Fiber Barrel Wrap - 12/08/22
Originally Posted by Jim_Conrad

From my research the consensus is carbon fiber transfers heat really well, the resin used to glue it together is horrible
I'm no expert but my ridgeline shoots very well. Can't say it is because of the barrel. But it looks cool haha As was said it wasn't cheap. Anyone know if the wrap stabilizes the barrel? I like bull barrels but not for walk hunting anymore.
Originally Posted by irfubar

From my research the consensus is carbon fiber transfers heat really well, the resin used to glue it together is horrible

The resin scratches like crazy, most used is polyester and vinyl ester resin.
I thought it was done to stiffen the barrel without the weight of a heavier, stiffer steel barrel.
Posted By: Fireball2 Re: Carbon Fiber Barrel Wrap - 12/08/22
Originally Posted by gregintenn
I thought it was done to stiffen the barrel without the weight of a heavier, stiffer steel barrel.

That's the idea. I have a magnum research 22 mag semi auto that is a delight to carry and shoot.
Originally Posted by Fireball2

That's the idea. I have a magnum research 22 mag semi auto that is a delight to carry and shoot.
I always thought those looked like a fun rifle.

Yep. And it works done properly.
Posted By: deflave Re: Carbon Fiber Barrel Wrap - 12/08/22
Originally Posted by denton

Yes.
Posted By: Ringman Re: Carbon Fiber Barrel Wrap - 12/08/22