Home
Posted By: Salmonella MRI Claustrophobia - 02/11/13
I had to get an MRI yesterday and failed miserably.
About half way through the 40 minute procedure while in that tight fitting tube, I was overwhelmed with claustrophobia, I mean a total freakin panic attack and had to abort the procedure.
I will try again with some sedatives from the doc, but that experience really sucked.

Anyone else suffer from claustrophobia?
Posted By: NathanL Re: MRI Claustrophobia - 02/11/13
My mom does real bad. Even with an open air MRI she has problems if she has to lie down on her face. She recently had one before she had surgery for breast cancer and I had to sit in there and hold her hand and talk to her the whole time to get thru it.
Posted By: 21 Re: MRI Claustrophobia - 02/11/13
Im a firefighter and it doesn't really bother me much, but just the length of time it gets uncomfortable and gets you thinking. Try an open MRI, they are much better.
Posted By: Dons99 Re: MRI Claustrophobia - 02/11/13
We all have it, it just depends on how small a hole they put you in to bring it out.
Posted By: Mossy Re: MRI Claustrophobia - 02/11/13
The Dr. thinks my wife has a partially torn rotator cuff. My wife has tried twice to get through an MRI but can't do it.

The second was an open MRI and was better,but she still couldn't make it.
Posted By: Theo Gallus Re: MRI Claustrophobia - 02/11/13
I'm not claustrophobic, but I've had an MRI. The noises that make it sound like you're inside a 55 gallon drum being beat on by the cast of Stomp must make it harder to take.
Posted By: Dons99 Re: MRI Claustrophobia - 02/11/13
I went through it for my shoulder & once I laid down I said a short prayer & I NEVER opened my eyes again until I was out.
Posted By: gunner500 Re: MRI Claustrophobia - 02/11/13
I put in my ear plugs and relaxed, piece of cake, although it does sound kinda like distant warfare.

Gunner
Posted By: grouseman Re: MRI Claustrophobia - 02/11/13
Close your eyes and try to nap.