Home
My wife and I are finally "pulling the trigger" on the retirement thing. We purchased 40 acres in Wyoming 6 or 7 years ago with the idea that we'd build a home/cabin/livable barn/etc. and a shooting range and let our kids and grandkids visit us instead of the other way around. We've sold our house, arranged for movers and are going to get an apartment and start the construction plans.

I have no experience with earth-moving or grading so am not sure what's going to be involved in getting a range build. I need suggestions and advise on what's involved in building a berm--how high and thick it needs to be, the angle (steepness) of the slope that's best, what (if anything) to cover it with (sand, pea gravel, etc.)---as well as any problems that I'm likely to encounter. Earthwork is terra incognito to me (pun intended).

Any advice (short of Deflave's "GFY") is welcome :-). Thanks
Greg
GFY

Travis
smile
I do actually have some advice for you though.

Rent, buy, or borrow a Bobcat/skid steer and go to town. After my dad retired he rented one multiple times (he finally bought one) and built or ripped down anything he wanted. I'd call an 8' berm plenty good myself. Doesn't take a lot dirt to stop a bullet. Making the berm in a U shape could be nice for multiple target placements.

Travis
gmoats;
Congratulations on your retirement sir, I hope you folks have a long and happy retirement phase of your lives together. cool

Maybe 2 decades back our federal government changed the rules on ranges here in Canada so our club was forced to have berms made in order to comply.

After looking at a few options, the executive at the time brought in a fellow with a loader to create the berms - it was a 966 sized one as I recall.