Home
Posted By: jnyork CPAP question - 08/23/17
My friend's wife needs to use a CPAP machine while sleeping, which severely limits her ability to go stay at their mountain cabin, which is without electricity. I recently was talking to a fellow who has the same problem and he mentioned he was running his off a battery, but I didn't think at the time to get any details from him. A web search did not turn up any 12 volt CPAPS. Does anyone here have personal experience with this situation? Thanks.
Posted By: NVhntr Re: CPAP question - 08/23/17
I haven't run my CPAP off a battery yet, however the transformer that feeds it puts out 12 volts, so I'm sure you could either run it off a 12v battery with a plug adapter, or get an inverter to power it at 110v.
Posted By: jnyork Re: CPAP question - 08/23/17
Well, that might work. How much power do those things draw? Would a fully charged RV battery work all night? Thanks
I would assume it would work, but I'm no electrical engineer.
I think a 12v RV battery and a small solar PV charging system would do the job.
This guy ran one for about 10 days on one charge.

CPAP on 12v battery
Posted By: RickyD Re: CPAP question - 08/23/17
Originally Posted by jnyork
My friend's wife needs to use a CPAP machine while sleeping, which severely limits her ability to go stay at their mountain cabin, which is without electricity. I recently was talking to a fellow who has the same problem and he mentioned he was running his off a battery, but I didn't think at the time to get any details from him. A web search did not turn up any 12 volt CPAPS. Does anyone here have personal experience with this situation? Thanks.

Google "CPAP battery powered" and it will show you lots of options. Few last longer than 13 hours and they aren't cheap. Most are battery packs for the current machine she is using.
Posted By: KFWA Re: CPAP question - 08/23/17