Home
Running out of things to watch on "movie night." What are some of your favorites of the last, say, 10 years?

I'll start with a few that I liked in no particular order

Interstellar
Argo
Inception
Limitless
Jack Reacher 1 (didn't see 2)
The Wedding Ringer
Argo was good. "Sicario" was friggin' super.
Last stand ,Wind river
Darkest Hour

Winter's Bone

Hacksaw Ridge

Lawless
John wick.
Fury

(of course I'm a retired tank mechanic!)
12 Strong
Several good ones mentioned here. I heard somebody mention "The Town" the other day. I need to re-watch that one, as it was pretty good too. 13 Hours was pretty awesome, and it is still fairly new.
No Country for old men.
Kung Fu Hustle
I Saw the Devil
The Raid
Old Man
Based on what you listed, here are some more "intelligent" movies of that genre:

Blade Runner 2049 - when compared to the original it feels too derivative and falls a bit short but it's still a good movie in its own right
The Planet of the Apes movies - the most recent trilogy are all pretty good.
The Martian - a well done movie based on actual science, unless you just hate Matt Damon
Life of Pi - visually stunning and has a neat story.
10 Cloverfield Lane - suspense movie more than sci-fi, it's more of a slow burn than dramatic action but with great acting
Man From Earth - a little indie type film from 2007 available on Amazon and maybe elsewhere. No action or blood or sex, all character based. I found the subject and story intriguing and well done, some others may find it offensive. There is a sequel done 10 years later, "Man from Earth: Holocene", don't waste your time on that one.
Edge of Tomorrow - Tom Cruise learns to fight aliens by living the same day over and over.
Avatar - "Dances with Wolves" meets "Pocahontas" on "The Planet of the Cliches", but if you ignore all of that it's also visually well done albeit with a pretty cliched story and somewhat one dimensional characters.

A couple outside the above: