Home
Posted By: kamo_gari Cape Cod fatal shark attack - 09/15/18
I've been telling my wife for several years that it's just a matter of time before the great whites here start killing people in the waters off the cape. Well, I was right. In recent years there has been a pair of non-fatal attacks attributed to great whites, but today marks the first time in some 80 years that a shark has killed anyone in New England waters. I find myself wondering what happens now. In cases where bears and cats and alligators and whatnot, the offending critters are found, if at all possible, and killed for their transgressions. My guess is that no hunt for the shark will take place. Maybe when a few more folks wind up on the white sharks' menu some will call for that sort of thing, but I'd be against it. You enter waters where known maneaters eat, you take your chances.

'Here's to swimming with bow-legged women!"

RIP, young man.

https://www.wcvb.com/article/wellfleet-shark-attack-victim-dies-newcomb-hollow-beach/23239475

Posted By: hanco Re: Cape Cod fatal shark attack - 09/15/18
Another Jaws movie will be out soon!!!
Lotsa people getting killed by nature this summer.

The rest watch and don't learn much.
I'm waiting for WAPO to say Trump was complicit.

"You enter waters where known maneaters eat, you take your chances. " Of course.
Gettin' et by a shark must be a singularly horrible way to slide down the curtain and join the choir invisible.

I've been running the Outer Banks of North Carolina since the mid 70's. A couple of years ago they had a rash of shark attacks in water little more than waist deep. They seem to have subsided as of late.
Posted By: Gus Re: Cape Cod fatal shark attack - 09/15/18
sharks have to eat too.

not to be facetious, but the ocean can be dangerous.

we humans seem to think we're above being prey for carnivores.

honestly, i just hate it when humans complain about sharks in the water.
Posted By: GeoW Re: Cape Cod fatal shark attack - 09/15/18
Damn..