Home
Posted By: AAAOA Getting into hunting as an adult - 01/12/20
Hey all,

I'm new here. Growing up I've spent a good bit of time outdoors between becoming an eagle scout, running cross country, helping my dad and step mom on their little farm, and generally just spending time in the woods. In fact, I've enjoyed it so much I am studying for a degree in wildlife biology.

Over the last year or so I've really gotten an itch to start hunting. I grew up shooting, but my parents never took me hunting, just a lot of fishing. It seems like a great way to spend more time in the outdoors and become more familiar with the food I eat, hoping back into the food chain if you will.

I'm really excited, but I have no idea where to start. I have a 30-06 single shot on the way, and I figure at some point I need to get a hunting license and attend a hunters safety course, but other than that I am a bit clueless. Should I hire a guide? Wander around until I figure it out on my own? My father hasn't hunted in a long time and he really only hunted birds, none of my friends are exactly hunters either being that I am in suburban northern Virginia.

How should I go about this? Thanks
I've enjoyed it so much I am studying for a degree in wildlife biology.

At our university in Anchorage; they teach up to 30% of all animals might be gay. What do you think about this, and how could this affect cow bull ratios?
Only a gay professor could come up with that one.
To quote an advertising slogan from some years ago 'Just Do It'.

Hunt, maybe read a little on questions you might have, but just doing it will get you far. Nothing beats just being out there. You'll figure out what does and doesn't work for you.

Let your DNA take control.
Originally Posted by watch4bear

At our university in Anchorage; they teach up to 30% of all animals might be gay. What do you think about this, and how could this affect cow bull ratios?

ROFL!!
Originally Posted by watch4bear

Well dang.