Home
Posted By: Jevyod Fix or scrap - 03/17/23
[Linked Image from i.postimg.cc]
This happened today. I will add a few more pics and info...on my phone so 1 at a time it will be!
Posted By: Jevyod Re: Fix or scrap - 03/17/23
Saved the chip. Measured with a calipers it is .2 deep
Posted By: Jevyod Re: Fix or scrap - 03/17/23
So I had the rifle bedded, just picked it up today. There was a crack there before, I was hoping the bedding would help relieve the recoil. So a few questions, is this repairable? I am an amateur woodworker so I am not afraid to glue the chip back in. I am just afraid if it happened once it may happen again? This stock is on a BRNO Mauser, and obviously came from a different rifle. Chambering is 338-06, so has some recoil.
Or would you just scrap the stock? I got the gun for 325, so I am not opposed to putting it in a Boyds.
Posted By: Clemson Re: Fix or scrap - 03/17/23
Totally repairable. Use Acraglass -- the thin stuff rather than the gel.
Posted By: Sheister Re: Fix or scrap - 03/17/23
Easy fix. I would use Elmers Titebond, clamp it sufficiently to not squeeze out all the glue, let it dry. Sand any small imperfections lightly . Take the action out of the rifle and relieve the wood a bit at the point so the action isn't driven back into it in recoil
Posted By: saddlesore Re: Fix or scrap - 03/17/23
Originally Posted by Sheister
Easy fix. I would use Elmers Titebond, clamp it sufficiently to not squeeze out all the glue, let it dry. Sand any small imperfections lightly . Take the action out of the rifle and relieve the wood a bit at the point so the action isn't driven back into it in recoil

Exactly!!!!!
Posted By: gunscrew Re: Fix or scrap - 03/17/23
this
Posted By: Sitka deer Re: Fix or scrap - 03/18/23
I agree on the easy fix and relieving behind the tang... but it is really important IMO to bed it properly. That is a bedding issue.