Home
Posted By: FNG Browning BLR - 11/09/12
I'm not real good with the search function, so I'm sorry if this is beating a dead horse. I was ready to throw down the money on a Marlin 338MXLR, but we all know the deal there (I hadn't done my homework).

Now I'm onto the BLR. I like ammo availability of the '06, but people seem to like the short action better in this rifle. This leads me to the 358 or 300wsm. I already reload for the '06 and the WSM and would do so for the 358.

What say you?

Thanks,
Dan
Posted By: Fireball2 Re: Browning BLR - 11/09/12
I started shooting a Savage 99 358 this season and like the caliber so far. Have not killed with it but recoil is nice, accuracy excellent. I don't like a hammer on a scoped rifle due to needing to flip open scope covers and cock hammer- too many thingy's to remember when it gets fast and furious. smile If unscoped, hammer guns are cool. Several Savage 99's for sale right now if you look around.
Posted By: noKnees Re: Browning BLR - 11/09/12
The 358 or a 308 win and the BLR are a good match. I have old steel framed model with a straight stock in 358

The 358 is easy to load cartridge thats good for 300 yds without much hair pulling.

I don't know how the pistol grip stocks are but I am not sure I would really want much more than a 30.06 or so in the straight stocked version. It doesn't have the greatest recoil pad and the rifle does come up a bit under recoil.

in the distant past my BLR wore a 1.75-5X burris, now a williams peep.
Posted By: 21 Re: Browning BLR - 11/09/12
No experience with the BLR, but my Savage 99 .358 is death on anything I point it at. I don't reload so Im stuck with the lousy 200 grain silvertips. It shoots the 250's far better but at the range I kill deer, within 35 yards or so, its no issue. I can only suppose a 250 grain soft point would be the "cats behind." You'll love the .358 and Im sure the BLR is a fine rifle.
Posted By: Sherwood Re: Browning BLR - 11/09/12