Home
Posted By: 43Shooter Glock 21? - 06/28/21
Is a Glock 21 harder to shoot well including fast followup shots than a 1911 with a good trigger?
Posted By: AH64guy Re: Glock 21? - 06/28/21
This should be fun...

When I started shooting a 21 back in the late 90s, I'd have said "yes". The weight of the 13 round magazine kept the first recoil pulses low, but increased as the magazine emptied.

I'd find breaks in the shot string within the last five rounds that were recordable - but not critical. We were shooting informal matches, and nobody was going to Nationals - it was fun and bragging rights at the beer table afterwards.

Compared to my 1911, the results were less noticeable under the same target run - with an all steel pistol.

Maybe I just shot a 1911 "better", and hadn't had enough experience with the Glock - I do know that we could see a difference in the recorded times between the two.

Today, with a "Short Frame" pistol that fits my hand better, I'd say it depends on how each pistol is set up - the Glock has extensively more aftermarket products than "back then", resets and trigger weights are adjustable to your needs.

It's tough to beat a well tuned 1911 - IMHO, YMMV.

A lot of the debate comes down to training and experience - you tend to do better with what you train the most with.
Posted By: 43Shooter Re: Glock 21? - 06/28/21
Agreed on the well tuned 1911.