Home
Posted By: wy0ming Ruger LCR… ouch - 04/05/22
I’m new to shooting revolvers so don’t make fun of me too much.

Went shooting with a friend and got to shoot a Ruger LCR. This was with target wadcutters, and the thing still hurt to shoot.

It was a different experience than other recoil I’ve experienced. The gun was very controllable, and I shot it better than I thought I would. But the recoil was painful, like getting smacked in the hand.

I was disappointed because I’d been reading that wadcutters were so easy to shoot even in a snubby. As is I could see owning it for defensive use, but it was no fun at all at the range. But maybe that’s the idea…

Makes me wonder if I was doing something wrong. I studied different grips … maybe that was it. Any suggestions? Or does it sound like I had a typical snubby experience?
Posted By: wildhobbybobby Re: Ruger LCR… ouch - 04/05/22
Lightweight snubbies with any kind of .38 ammo are a bit snappy, even with wadcutters, and progressively friskier with heavier loads. .357's are pretty brutal, on both ends. People's opinion of recoil is subjective, but in general, the more hand-filling the grip is, the less it hurts.
Posted By: JCMCUBIC Re: Ruger LCR… ouch - 04/05/22
It helps me to make sure the web/middle of the meaty area between my thumb and trigger finger is as high up on the grip and as deep as possible in my hand. Basically a nice tight grip, but a nice tight grip low on the grip vs high makes a noticeable difference for me. I also wrap with my off hand and push/pull with wrists locked. It is a light little revolver though and it's going to snap but the way you hold it will effect how you feel that snap. I went with the .357 version of the lcr and lcrx, mainly for the little bit of extra weight. 38+p is the stiffest they will see from me.

Take my input with a grain of salt as I've never been taught proper shooting form....but I do a lot of shooting and this works well for me.