Home
I'm very new to reloading handgun cartridges so am seeking some advice. I want to develop a 44 mag load for my S & W Mountain Gun oriented mostly to lighter (200 - 225 gr) jacketed bullets at relatively modest (i.e. 1000 fps) velocities. The use would be shots of opportunities on coyotes or cougars. I've read that a number of the 44 mag powders are best when at higher pressures (and therefore velocity). Unique (which I have) is listed as one powder that is very flexible as to be able to download to lower velocity and still retains decent accuracy. Are there other powders that should be on my list?
A lot of folks like anywhere from 8-11 gr Unique under cast 240s.

I use 9.0 gr Unique under jacketed 240s and cast 240/250s. Shoots well at about 1000 fps.
Unique would be my choice. Use it in 44 for cast bullets. Have been wanting a 45 mountain gun for awhile and passed up a 44 about a year ago. Regret that. The plan is to shoot cast at 900 or so. Should make for a pleasant but effective handgun. Universal seems to duplicate unique fairly well and may be cleaner. But i think the newer unique is clean enough, never minded the old stuff.
I prefer Accurate #7 to Unique as it burns cleaner; for really light loads in magnum brass I like Hodgdon Trail Boss.
For loads as you describe, any of the faster to medium powders should work quite easily. Things like 231, HP38, Universal, Unique, Power Pistol, Accurate No 5, or HS6 would work.

I've personally had great luck with HP38 and 200-250 grs cast bullets or 200-240 gr Jacketd bullets running in the 950-1050 range in 4" 44 Mags. Unique is a classic for this too.

Mark in GA
9gr of ww231, pure magic