Home
I will be taking my concealed carry @ the end of this month and hopefully will get to carry for the 1st time in the the very near future. Since I will be a complete newbie to carrying I am open to suggestions for my holster. I own an XD 40 sub-compact that I've shot for several years and I feel confident when shooting it. However, I fear of feeling clumsy when carrying it until I get used to it. I would think holster choice could make a big difference on whether or not I feel comfortable carrying. I plan to maybe acquire a S&W Bodyguard in the near future for easier concealment and carrying in my back pocket for when I can't carry the XD 40. So, what holster would you folks suggest for my XD 40?
I use a Cross breed IWB with a kahr 9mm. It seems to work pretty well. I use a El Paso OWB tortilla with a H&K USP 40C that works well, but it's harder to conceal, of course, since it's outside the waist line. I use a clip draw on a couple of J frames for IWB carry. It is easier to carry that way for me than in a back pocket.
Good basic holster without breaking the bank...DeSantis Speed Scabbard. Rides high and tight and very secure. Can be had from $45-60 on ebay, Amazon and GunBroker...

They make a very nice matching single or double mag pouch.

I have them for my 1911s, Medium revolber (S&W K/l, GP100) and 4" N-frame Smiths...

Bob

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Desantis-00..._DefaultDomain_0&hash=item27f7ecec9a

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Desantis-Sp..._DefaultDomain_0&hash=item5666f316b2

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Desantis-A0..._DefaultDomain_0&hash=item48798ecc97

http://www.ebay.com/itm/A47BJGGZ0-D..._DefaultDomain_0&hash=item43d5f1d013
Sam Andrews makes all my CCW leather.
[Linked Image]

www.andrewsleather.com
I am still a Milt Sparks fan. I carry a full sized 1911 every day in a VM II and have no problem.