Home
Posted By: Holston Torn between 2 44 specials - 09/14/17
I'll start off by saying I'm no handgun expert. I've had a pile over the years, but would shoot them for a bit then send em down the road.

I bought a flattop Bisley a few years ago, and found "my" cartridge. The .44 Special can and will do all I'll ever ask out of handgun and I really have enjoyed it. Been shooting a 250 Keith style over 7ish grains of Unique and feel that's about right for my needs.

I've been getting a bad itch for a DA revolver, for general carry. Torn between the S&W 69 Combat Magnum (2.75") and the GP100 (3"). Handled them both and can't say I really have a preference. I think that the 69 may carry a little better, but not sure.

Just trying to get some opinions before I buy one from some of you that are much more handgun savvy than me. Please keep in mind that the fact that the S&W can shoot magnums is irrelevant, if I go that route it will strictly see special loads/brass.

Almost picked up the Ruger today, but I am having a helluva hard time picking between the two. Both isn't an option right now.

Thanks.
Posted By: HawkI Re: Torn between 2 44 specials - 09/14/17
Im thinking if its about "the cartridge", Id want the gun to be specifically chambered for it.
"Special" loads are still best served in magnum cases in guns chambered for such. Think oversized throat with plenty of freebore....

JMO.
Posted By: eicas Re: Torn between 2 44 specials - 09/14/17
Hello,

Wandered over here following a few posters here from another forum....