Home
Posted By: wabigoon A pony for Gilbert? - 03/24/23
Shetlands can ornery, what about a Welsh?
Posted By: toltecgriz Re: A pony for Gilbert? - 03/24/23
Sure why not? How old/big is Gilbert. Maybe wait a couple of years and get a horse?
Posted By: wabigoon Re: A pony for Gilbert? - 03/24/23
Gilbert is six.
Posted By: Just a Hunter Re: A pony for Gilbert? - 03/24/23
My cousin-in-law used to raise Welsh pony's for her kids and sale. She liked them for her kids.
Thanks all.
Posted By: saddlesore Re: A pony for Gilbert? - 03/24/23
Usually with a Shetland the kid is too small to control it and when he does get old enough, he is too big for it. They get spoiled because the kid is too young to know what to do. It is not the fault or the breeding of the pony. There are some good ones out there, but are few and far between. I had one for my kids, but it had been through a few families before then and did well.

Myself, I started riding a welsh pony when I was about 9 years old and did so until my middle teens.
Posted By: Rock Chuck Re: A pony for Gilbert? - 03/24/23
A big problem with Shetlands is that they're too small for a knowledgeable rider to break them. They all end up being half assed broken by kids who don't know how. The breed wasn't developed for riding. They were bred to be draft horses to use in English mines where full sized horses were too big for the job.
Posted By: ironbender Re: A pony for Gilbert? - 03/24/23
Originally Posted by toltecgriz
Sure why not? How old/big is Gilbert. Maybe wait a couple of years and get a horse?
Solid advice.
Thanks all. I leanin' tword a horse.
Posted By: Kaleb Re: A pony for Gilbert? - 03/25/23
I’d 100% get a horse. Moving my 7 year old daughter from a pony to a horse was one of the best things I done. I also ride the horse too and so far that has helped with the horse trying to get away with stuff. So far so good.