Home
Posted By: Landrum Ruger Guide Gun 338 Win Mag - 08/24/18
I know that I'm a little late to the party. After all, this rifle has been out for years but I was never that interested until now.

I've been shooting a 340 Weatherby MKV for twenty years and I would like something in that class but in a more compact package.

Do any of you guys have one of The Ruger Guide Guns and if so, what are your thoughts on the rifle? How are the stock spacers. They're ugly as hell but are they well made? How about the 20" barrel. Does the gun balance well in your opinion?

Anything you would like to add would be appreciated.
You'd be far better off with a 243 you can shoot accurately. That's what they tell me anyhow. laugh
I've never had an issue with shooting accurately so I won't worry about that. Besides, I am in the process of procuring a 6mm Creedmoor. Still, I want something to replace....perhaps, compliment, my 340 Weatherby. I need a shorter rifle for the jungle that I am hunting in these days. That 338 Win. Mag. Ruger Guide Gun is tempting.
Go for it. I have a Ruger MKII .338WM with a 22" barrel and love it. Mine has Ruger's skeletonized "boatpaddle" stock, so it is lighter than the Guide Gun with the laminate stock. If buying the Guide Gun, I would consider getting a Hawkeye synthetic stock for it. With the brake recoil shouldn't be a problem.
I would like to find an old Sako that is in good shape but those come by chance. The Ruger Guide Gun is out there and in stock at various outlets. They seem a little high for what they are but everything has gone up in price these last 10 or so years.
Posted By: 358wsm Re: Ruger Guide Gun 338 Win Mag - 08/24/18

Landrum,

I'll just offer this for your consideration, feel free to do with it according to your tastes and preferences.