Home
Posted By: yukon254 9.3x62 or 30/06 ? - 05/12/19
Getting ready to buy my first Zastava. Although Zastavas seem to have a better selection of left handed calibers than a lot of other manufacturers the only calibers available right now that interest me are the 9.3 and 30/06. The 6.5 swede is available as well but I have no experience with the 6.5s. Rifle will be used for general purpose hunting here in the Yukon....moose, caribou, sheep, bears. Which caliber would you choose and why??

Another question is how does the swede stack up against the creed ?

Anyone have an opinion on the best pivot mount for the Zastavas?

Thanks
Posted By: elkhunternm Re: 9.3x62 or 30/06 ? - 05/12/19
.30/06 it will handle anything you want to hunt in the Yukon.
Posted By: VernAK Re: 9.3x62 or 30/06 ? - 05/12/19
I have both and either will work for you but I've come to prefer my CZ 9.3x62 when in the deep bush for moose and bear.
The cartridge seems very friendly to load for and I have a surplus of new brass should you go that way. I'd be glad to share
my load with you.
Posted By: kk alaska Re: 9.3x62 or 30/06 ? - 05/12/19
Your awful close to the 9.3 X 62 guru Ted ! He will probably sway you to the 9.3 ! But for all around use tough to best the 06. Either will do just fine. I would have the 6.5 and the 9.3 ! You could load the 9.3 250 gr for long range and 286 for Bear and Moose and Bison.

I would buy a LH Ruger American Predator in 6.5 Creedmoor and the LH Zastava in 9.3 X 62 if I was in your shoes. Wish it was easier to sell a LH rifle to our neighbors in the Yukon have several you would love. Kurt
Posted By: kk alaska Re: 9.3x62 or 30/06 ? - 05/12/19
Just saw Stockys will finally ship stocks to Canada!
Posted By: Dre Re: 9.3x62 or 30/06 ? - 05/12/19
How do you handle Recoil?
I didn’t think I was sensitive as I could shoot my 06 what seems like all day, until I shot my 9.3.
06 for the win.
Posted By: mudhen Re: 9.3x62 or 30/06 ? - 05/12/19