Home
Posted By: Ky221 Ruger Boat Paddle restock - 10/02/19
Has anyone replaced the stock on the mark II boat paddle? What did you go with and do you have pics?

I have one in 300WM, and would really like a different stock. The sling swivels are a touch noisy and lets just say it’s pretty lively in its current form....
Posted By: 308ld Re: Ruger Boat Paddle restock - 10/02/19
I have a 308 Ruger Hawkeye All Weather. The Ruger Hawkeye and MK II stocks are interchangeable. The Hawkeye All Weather stock, in my opinion, is a very nice stock with a soft recoil pad. Much softer than the boat paddle hard rubber. Even with the mild 308, the difference in recoil from the bench is very noticeable between the All Weather and Zytel stock. I'm staying with the Full Zytel vs the Skeleton/Boat Paddle.

[Linked Image from i.imgur.com]

[Linked Image from i.imgur.com]

I have no experience with after market stocks.
Posted By: ldmay375 Re: Ruger Boat Paddle restock - 10/02/19
I have used McMillan, Classic and Hunter models on Mark II's and Hawkeyes, from 223 through 416 Ruger. The McMillan Classic is my personal favorite.

I do have have some H-S Precision for a couple of 375 and 416 Rugers. The fore end seems a bit fatter than the McMillan. But I rather like it on the above 338's.

I agree, to me the all-weather stock is a better feeling and looking stock than the boat paddle. It is probably plenty stiff and tough for the 338's and under that they put them on.
I will say, that I doubt that any composite is tougher than the Ruger boat paddle. I would have no issue with them, if length of pull could be reduced and a Decelerator pad added in the usual method.
Posted By: 35 Re: Ruger Boat Paddle restock - 10/02/19
Originally Posted by Ky221
Has anyone replaced the stock on the mark II boat paddle? What did you go with and do you have pics?