Home
Posted By: szihn New bunny gun - 07/04/20
I may have a new "favorite" small game gun soon. It's one I have been working on for 8 years now, and I finally have it built but have not started the finish work on wood or metal work yet.
It's a 28 caliber flintlock. I really hope it shoots well. I will use about 10 grains of 3F Black powder and a .272" ball. Zeroed at 25 yards I expect it will not have a lot of range past maybe 50 at the most, but it should be a LOT of fun to shoot cottontails with in December and January.
Posted By: DigitalDan Re: New bunny gun - 07/04/20
Your "Old School Loony Badge" has been updated to 'Forever' status.

grin
Posted By: Justahunter Re: New bunny gun - 07/04/20
Sounds like a sweet little shooter!

Todd
Posted By: kaywoodie Re: New bunny gun - 07/04/20
πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘
Posted By: prairie dog shooter Re: New bunny gun - 07/04/20
Would that be about a #2 buck shot?
Posted By: szihn Re: New bunny gun - 07/04/20
Yeah and I have no idea what to get any. Australian SSG is also about right.
Anyone know where it's available?

If not I'll buy a mold from Jeff Tanner or just make one myself.
Posted By: sharps4590 Re: New bunny gun - 07/04/20
I have seen one, 28 cal. flintlock made as a Southern Mountain rifle. That was beyond a doubt the most svelte rifle of ANY kind I have ever seen. Thee seller said it was scary accurate. Good luck with it Steve!!
Posted By: Rustyzipper Re: New bunny gun - 07/09/20
OHHHHH Mannn. Not another 270! Be Well, Rustyzipper.
Posted By: szihn Re: New bunny gun - 07/11/20
Yeah I guess it is a 270

Don't think I'll try to kill any elk with it however.
Posted By: Stophel Re: New bunny gun - 07/11/20
I wouldn't even be able to handle a ball that small. .36 is hard enough to handle for my big fingers.
Posted By: Rustyzipper Re: New bunny gun - 07/16/20
I agree with you on handling the projectile with arthritic fingers. I can say that some days are OK. Be Well, Rustyzipper.