Home
I am new to muzzle loading and am looking for a flintlock that will not break the bank, but not a cheap one either. Looking to spend 300-500 on the gun only.

any suggestions / help would be appreciated.
Lyman. Check out the great plains rifle
Try Track of the Wolf.com or earlyrusticarms.com or Pecatonica River.com
Originally Posted by Dr_Gnarr
I am new to muzzle loading and am looking for a flintlock that will not break the bank, but not a cheap one either. Looking to spend 300-500 on the gun only.

any suggestions / help would be appreciated.

depends on what your looking for ????
long rifle , halfstock rifle . 18th century , 19th century , 20th century . smoothbore, musket , single barrel , double barrel , just a shooter or a more histoical accurate piece
I'm looking for one for hunting whitetail in PA. I have been recommended the Lyman Deerstalker and the TC Firestorm. I like the look of the small Traditions Carbine, but was told to stay away from Traditions. These three I mentioned are the size and type I am looking for.
nothing wrong with traditions. they are accurate as hell. They may have a soft frizzen issue but thats not hard to fix.
i would agree with bigblock , but would add that their flasholes are NOT placed properly as well .
another relitivly easy fix . past that , for the money, the lyman is IMO a better bang for the buck . but i wouldnt shy from a traditions if the price was right .
if i had my rathers i would rank them as follows
Lyman with TC a very close second . really a toss up . then traditions/cva being very close
I have the Lyman Deerstalker in .54 flinter. I could not be happier. Get a 54 if you can---its hits a heck of a lot harder than a 50.
For extra money, hands-down best is the T/C Hawken...I got mine for a steal (almost literally...I bought it from a guy who was more interested in the football game and he let me out the door with it and all the gear for under $200.00)