Home
Posted By: MtnT 9.3 Africa Bullet - 10/17/20
What would be best of these choices for an expanding bullet in a 9.3x62 for Cape Buffalo?
286g Nosler partition
320g Woodliegh
325g Norma Oryx

Heavy ones running at about 2370fps, 286 running just over 2500fps

So all at Namibia minimum 5400 joules or just a hair over

I have got partitions running great w 1” or less groups, but wondering if one of the “heavy” bullets would better
Posted By: Mule Deer Re: 9.3 Africa Bullet - 10/17/20
In general, the Partition tends to penetrate at least as deeply as the Woodleigh and Oryx, and often deeper, because it doesn't expand as widely.
Posted By: surefire7 Re: 9.3 Africa Bullet - 10/17/20
Personally, I'd use a SAF, but I see it's not on your list.

I have used SAF and TBBC on (7) Buffalo in Africa so far, and like them both.

Sorry, I have no experience to help you with your list.
Posted By: okie john Re: 9.3 Africa Bullet - 10/17/20
I've used the Nosler on feral cattle, but I suspect that a load pushing it to 2,500 fps might be unsafe.

Okie John
Posted By: Mule Deer Re: 9.3 Africa Bullet - 10/17/20
Nope, it's not. The load I use in mine (CZ 550 with 23.6 inch barrel) with 286's is 66 grains of Ramshot Big Game gets just about that, and I had it pressure-tested. Turns out its right around .30-06 factory pressures, which aren't very hot at all. Have used it in Africa at over 100 degrees Fahrenheit with no issues.
Posted By: sass2924 Re: 9.3 Africa Bullet - 10/17/20
I used the Woodleigh bullets on plains game and they dropped everything quickly, the largest being a Kudu. I think they would do fine on a buffalo.
Posted By: MtnT Re: 9.3 Africa Bullet - 10/18/20
SAF generates higher pressures, per QL
TBBC isn’t available

JB, do u think I am good to stay with the Partitions?
They do shoot straight
Posted By: Dre Re: 9.3 Africa Bullet - 10/18/20
Maybe over my head here. What about barnes X or similar offerings?
Posted By: gunner500 Re: 9.3 Africa Bullet - 10/18/20