Home
Posted By: Switch Cartridges That Are Vanishing - 01/11/21
Why did the 284 Winchester and WSSMs not become a commercial success? I have no experience with the 25 WSSM but looks promising as a light deer and antelope round. I have a chance to by one, but wonder why it is not more popular? I had, until recently, a NULA 284 Win and thought it was a great combo, IMHO better than the 7 08, but brass became almost impossible to find! I had the same thoughts on the 7 MM WSM, thought it and the 7 mm SUAM where the bst of the bunch, but I must have been wrong, and yet the 280 AI is a home run!
Posted By: Quak Re: Cartridges That Are Vanishing - 01/11/21
Wssm cartridges have feeding issues. The original wsm owes its demise to the original creator Rick Jamison and his settlement with Olin over copyright infringement
Posted By: Quak Re: Cartridges That Are Vanishing - 01/11/21
7-08 is better than the 284 imho hence it’s still around in force
Originally Posted by Quak

Yep. Kind of a no brainer...
284 is extremely popular for F class competition. Norma, Peterson, and now Lapua make brass for it. 7mm SAUM is somewhat popular in the same sport. ADG makes great brass for it.
When I read the title of this thread what immediately came to mind was the .250 and .300 Savages. Growing up in the 80's and 90's they were popular deer rounds. Not so much anymore. Seems the younger crowd doesn't care for 99s
Why is a 7-08 superior to a 284? That is a volatile statement.
Yes, many levergun calibers like the 307 and 356 Winchester. The 6mm Remington and 220 Swift used to be popular groundhog rounds, but the 243 and 22-250 seemed to put them out to pasture ( if they ever were popular to begin with).
The 6mm's are out selling the 243's on the internet!
Originally Posted by Bugger

Brilliant.... shocked
Originally Posted by bsa1917hunter

Yep. Kind of a no brainer...

Hence the reason for your reply....
To me the dog turd of the bunch is the 223WSSM, was a bad design from the get-go