Home
Posted By: LowBC 264WM vs 6.5PRC - 10/18/22
Help me out, what am I missing. Why does the 264’s performance only just equal the PRC round? I would have thought with the additional case capacity, the 264WM should have had a significant performance gain. Thoughts?
Posted By: cra1948 Re: 264WM vs 6.5PRC - 10/18/22
See the recent thread 7mm RM vs .280 AI. Maybe similar issue.
Posted By: hanco Re: 264WM vs 6.5PRC - 10/18/22
Got a couple 264’s. The PRC sounds cool. There was a time not that long ago we had few 6.5’s, now one behind every bush!
Posted By: Pancho1 Re: 264WM vs 6.5PRC - 10/18/22
PRC is new kid on the block. I would seriously consider getting one except I've been shooting a 264 for 50 years and have never found it wanting. I will enter raffles to win a PRC though. If I win one then . . . . . . . .
Posted By: hikerbum Re: 264WM vs 6.5PRC - 10/18/22
Marketing 101....
Posted By: Magnum_Bob Re: 264WM vs 6.5PRC - 10/18/22
The original 140 gr bullets from both WW and Remington were dual diameter bullets. That's right back half to 1/3 of the bullet at groove dia., a short tapered section forward of the cannelure then the diameter was .257"which ran on top the lands. Which both rifle makers utilized a very short throat and held the coal to 3.34". Neither bullet was a real tackdriver either but atleast the throat allowed them to be seated out a bit. With modern full diameter full length 140's you have to deep seat them to accommodate the short throat which robs you of powder space. Put a short barrel on it and really fug it's potential. With a 700 and it's 3.6" box plus the judicious use of a throating reamer 140's+ the right slow burner powder would be more than a dream...mb
Posted By: Magnum_Bob Re: 264WM vs 6.5PRC - 10/18/22