Home
Posted By: comerade The Speer, Hot core bullet - 04/28/24
I am looking at the .277/ 150 grain ( flat base) bullet.
I have not tried them in a long while, I had switched to the Grandslam. Elk are the primary quarry.
I am not a long shooter, BC is a non issue.
Have any of you done any generation, ballistic gel, or other tests?
Back to the future, me thinks. Let me/ us know your opinion, folks
Posted By: Brad Re: The Speer, Hot core bullet - 04/28/24
Comerade, I call the Speer Hotcore "The Poor Mans Partition." They really hang together. I have zero experience with the 270 versions, but I have used the 150 and 165 in the 308 Win. Years ago I ran the 165 into phone books - it came out like an advertising photo. I took my heaviest whitetail with the 150, and 7x7 elk with the 165.

I'll be interested to hear first-hand accounts of the 270/150, but I suspect I'll learn they behave no differently than the 30 cal versions.
I don't have any experience on elk with them. However I have shot a ton of deer with that exact bullet. I have ever only found one in a deer. I would say partition like performance. It is also the most accurate bullet in my 270. I've been using them since 1975
In my recovered-bullet collection there's a 165 Hot-Cor spitzer from a mature whitetail buck that was angling away at around 125 yards. Muzzle velocity was around 2800, and found the bullet in the far shoulder. Weight retention was 84.8%.

Did have one 105-grain 6mm Hot-Cor leave its jacket at the entrance hole on another whitetail buck. Muzzle velocity was around 2900 from a .243 Winchester, and the range about 250--but the core kept going and broke the buck's spine.
Posted By: trplem Re: The Speer, Hot core bullet - 04/28/24
Dad's been using them on white tail for years, usually at ranges measured in feet. We've recovered one bullet over the years from a walnut tree several feet from the deer. I've never weighed it; it is a pretty mushroom though.