Home
Posted By: CJC73 Neck Sizing vs FL Sizing - 11/28/17
I'm relatively new to reloading and have only used FL sizing dies but as I read more and more, it sounds like I only need to neck size. Is this preferred for brass life and accuracy? Do you get better accuracy from only neck sizing since the brass is formed to that chamber?

I only have one rifle per caliber so the brass is only shot from one rifle.

Should I start getting neck sizing dies and not use the FL dies? All of my die sets are FL right now

Also, I have a 25-270wsm that I shoot. Once the brass if FL sized from 270wsm and shot from the rifle, I can neck size then, correct? Would this require a custom neck sizing die? or would any 25 cal neck sizing die work?

Thanks all!
Posted By: mathman Re: Neck Sizing vs FL Sizing - 11/28/17
Originally Posted by CJC73
I'm relatively new to reloading and have only used FL sizing dies but as I read more and more, it sounds like I only need to neck size. Is this preferred for brass life and accuracy?It may help with brass life, but it depends on how you go about the neck sizing. Do you get better accuracy from only neck sizing since the brass is formed to that chamber?Not necessarily.

Should I start getting neck sizing dies and not use the FL dies? I do not recommend conventional neck sizing dies. Get Lee collet dies or one of the interchangeable bushing dies. All of my die sets are FL right now

Also, I have a 25-270wsm that I shoot. Once the brass if FL sized from 270wsm and shot from the rifle, I can neck size then, correct? Yes Would this require a custom neck sizing die? Yes or would any 25 cal neck sizing die work?No

Thanks all!

Posted By: smokepole Re: Neck Sizing vs FL Sizing - 11/28/17