Home
Question for the pros...

Seems to me that both factory ammo and loading data for the 7mm Rem Mag is a bit on the anemic side. Is this intentional? I found data dating back to the 70s and early 80s showing data for 160r bullets allegedly choreographed at 3100fps in production guns and 175s at 3000 fps.

IIRC wasn't the cartridge originally designed to push a 175gr at 3050fps?

I know I've pushed 160gr acubonds over 3000fps in my 24 inch 700 with zero pressure signs. What gives?
Posted By: jwall Re: Why is the 7RM underloaded? - 07/20/18

Yep, been going on a while now. I have Hornady Vol II and most newer manuals don't touch it.
I've loaded 162s at 3160 and didn't blow up anything EVEN a case. imagine that !!

I'm not a pro, so I'll not try to answer your ??

Jerry
Pressure isn't constant shot to shot. Modern testing equipment is able to show that the probability distribution of the pressure for the 7mm Rem Mag is spread out somewhat more than other cartridges. So the loading was changed to lower the mean pressure of the distribution enough so the area in the no go portion of the high pressure tail of the distribution became acceptably small.
Posted By: jwall Re: Why is the 7RM underloaded? - 07/20/18
Okay -

Many loads today 'hardly' beat the 270 Win velocity with "proportionate" bullets. That's my beef.!!

Jerry
Posted By: pete53 Re: Why is the 7RM underloaded? - 07/20/18
here is the true answer LIABILITY no body wants to end up in court,over a rifle that blew up anymore so all ammo manufactures and books on hand loading have reduced the amount of powder used for their own law suit protection and i can understand why. my old hunting partner work for a ammo manufacture for 40 years and he spent plenty time in court and trying to solve problems from a rifle or pistol that had problems,most problems were from a hand loader using to much powder. that`s why velocities these days are lower > less powder,less pressure,less lawsuits its always about the money