Home
Posted By: mooshoo 404 jeff or the 416 taylor - 10/21/20
what one would you rather have, just for sh*ts and giggles.
I have a .404 Jeffery.
[Linked Image from i.imgur.com]
Posted By: mooshoo Re: 404 jeff or the 416 taylor - 10/21/20
that's cool looking rig please details if you don't mind
Bought it from a gunsmith who made it for himself he fired about 20 rounds through it to sight it in and has not fired it in about 20 or so years. I have been drooling over that rifle for about three years before he finally decided to sell it,I bought it in November 2019.

It is made on an original Mauser 98 action,not tapped and drilled for a scope,the stock is made from ? wood and I have no idea who made the barrel. It has the original flag style safety of the Mauser 98's. Have not weighed it but I think it's in the 8 lb range and it balances very well in my hands.

Posted By: mooshoo Re: 404 jeff or the 416 taylor - 10/21/20
that my friend is one cool rifle!!
Thank you. smile
Rifle is a beaut! Great piece of walnut!
Posted By: CRS Re: 404 jeff or the 416 taylor - 10/22/20
elkhunter,
love the rifle

I have played around with 416 Rigby's and 404 Jeffery's.
I have since settled on a 416 Remington.. I like the better selection of 416 bullets and plan on working up a loads for the Barnes 350gr TSX and 300gr TSX..

I love the history of the 404, and used one to take a buffalo in Africa. If I could find the right rifle, I would own another one.
When I started my big bore journey, I looked very hard at the Taylor cartridge, and had it been commercialized, I probably would have went that direction.

So back to the original question. For kicks and giggles, I would probably choose a Taylor for pragmatism and the Jeffery for nostalgia. So whatever tickles your fancy. grin