Home
Posted By: Patrick_James .35 Ackley Magnum ? - 11/02/08
I have a friend who has a 35 Ackley mag. that he wants to trade me.I plan on going Elk hunting in the future and don't have a rifle larger than a 270 which is IMO marginal.I know nothing of this calibur.It's built on a FN commercial model 98 action with a 26 inch barrel.My friend says it was built by P.O Ackley and stocked by Bob Chow.It has a 1960 style roll over stock.It looks like it might be a 375 H&H necked down to 35 calibur.He does have reloading dies with it.Any guess at the value of this gun?It comes with a older like new Leupold 6x scope.I'm a novice at custom rifles so any advise will be appreciated.
thank you PJ
Posted By: fremont Re: .35 Ackley Magnum ? - 11/02/08
Don't know of any 35 Whelen magnum.....sounds like it could be a 35 Whelen Ackley Improved. If so, it's fairly easy to convert standard 35 Whelen brass into A.I. brass. Would be a great elk rifle.
Posted By: BCSteve Re: .35 Ackley Magnum ? - 11/02/08
.35 Norma Magnum???
Posted By: Steelhead Re: .35 Ackley Magnum ? - 11/02/08
It's based off his 30 Ackely Magnum. Believe it's a shortened H&H case that will fit in a standard length action. I don't know the dimensions.
Posted By: RinB Re: .35 Ackley Magnum ? - 11/02/08
P.O. had a "family" of short magnum cases. SH is correct that there was a 30 which had the same case dimensions as the 35. Both were based on the 375 H&H. It is similar to the 264, 7mm Rem, and 338 family of cases but has a shorter o.a.l. and has more body taper (i.e. it has a smaller dia @ the shoulder). I believe there are pictures in P.O.'s book and loads also. It would be easier to recut the chamber to 338 dimensions and use 338 cases. You could also recut it to 358 Norma. You should measure the barrel twist! Many of the old 358 diameter barrels were made with 1-16" twist and are too slow. I would want at least 1-12" twist and 1-10" would be better. You will find some disagreement with my ideas about twist.