Home
Posted By: fishnut X Caliber barrels - 02/01/17
It's time to re barrel one of my rifles and a local gun smith is recommending an X Caliber barrel but I've had no experience with them. It's going to be an 8 twist 243 24". What are guys thoughts on these barrels?
Posted By: SBTCO Re: X Caliber barrels - 02/01/17
I put the same barrel on my kids .243 (stainless). Shot fine with factory Fusion ammo 1"-. Haven't rung it out yet with hand loads but... I live in the Flathead Valley where X-Caliber is located and have been to their operation. Seems to be clean and well organized.
Posted By: Hess Re: X Caliber barrels - 02/01/17
I'll be curious where this thread goes in that I'm interested in getting a barrel from them as well. Seems like their prices are very fair. Lots of fluting options too, if you're into that.
Posted By: 10gaugemag Re: X Caliber barrels - 02/01/17
Tagged. Thinking of ordering one of these for a 223 build.
Posted By: BigDave39355 Re: X Caliber barrels - 02/01/17
I'm thinking of using a savage drop in for a creedmoor build.
Posted By: dennisinaz Re: X Caliber barrels - 02/02/17
Are they button rifled or cut rifled?
Posted By: gzig5 Re: X Caliber barrels - 02/02/17
Pretty sure X-caliber are buttoned. I've heard a lot of good things about them in the smaller bores but not a lot of reports for 6mm and larger. I don't know of a cut rifled barrel available for less than $300 other than from a re-borer and they are starting with your material.
Posted By: bbassi Re: X Caliber barrels - 02/07/17
FYI - they have a February sale going on. buy one, get the second 1/2 off if you order on line.
Posted By: TxHunter80 Re: X Caliber barrels - 02/07/17
Originally Posted by bbassi
FYI - they have a February sale going on. buy one, get the second 1/2 off if you order on line.

I almost ordered one for a 35 whelen project a few months ago. That pricing makes it hard to turn down
Posted By: msinc Re: X Caliber barrels - 02/08/17