Home
curious to see how many others in the savage world trap as well as collect savages. This is the first year in 40 yrs I did not set one single trap market is in the tank but just didn't have time this year.started when I was 10 yrs old
I trapped when I was younger. Started in about 6th grade after being majorly influenced by Fur Fish and Game magazines.

I haven't set a trap in 30 year or so though. I've considered starting to trap beavers on my property to get rid of them.
that is about all I set for anymore is beaver due to my partner is getting up there in age and I've been doing it with him for well over 20 yrs. Not setting at all last season kinda makes me miss it but this year I plan on getting back out. for me its the daily walk in the woods or water that makes it all worth while with prices in the tank which I don't see coming back soon who knows
I trap bunches of damn pigs, does that count?

[Linked Image from i.postimg.cc]

Not since the early or mid 80's when muskrats where $8, Mink $20-25 and coons $40-50.

Minimum wage at the time was $3.35 an hour and gas was about $1 gallon.
Originally Posted by hanco
I trap bunches of damn pigs, does that count?

Amen!
Last year was the first bad year we've had for prices in almost 10 years. Coyotes have been bread and butter, averaging from $75-90. Cats are down too, averaged $250 last year. Coyotes averaged $35. I still trap, mostly because I love it. I'm sure I'll lose money this year, but I'll have fun.
I keep a large live trap set in the backyard, baited with cosmetics, but so far no co-eds have fallen for it.
I ran a trap line with my uncle a few years back when I was in my early 20s... mostly muskrats, but we'd get the odd beaver or mink. It wasn't really something I ever really had my heart in, so I quit. It just wasn't my style... not enough juice for the squeeze.