[Linked Image]
Posted By: like2shoot Re: my custom 99 pics - 12/14/09
Very nice.
Posted By: levrluvr99 Re: my custom 99 pics - 12/14/09
thanks, although Im a vey poor photographer
Posted By: JeffG Re: my custom 99 pics - 12/14/09
That look great! What caliber?
.308 is the caliber, and it joys my heart to say that it was completely hand made by myself using only hand powered tools. Check that, I did use a chainsaw to saw the blank from the log.
Posted By: ringworm Re: my custom 99 pics - 12/14/09
and people thought i was nuts spending $1200 to customize a 336.
Posted By: like2shoot Re: my custom 99 pics - 12/14/09
Here is levrluvr99's post about his rifle. https://www.24hourcampfire.com/ubbth..._custom_99_date_of_manufactu#Post3566640
Posted By: 99guy Re: my custom 99 pics - 12/14/09
Savage 99...Wow.

336...Wow.
the nice thing about this was I really wasn't out much money in making this. My dad has a bunch of walnut logs, aged about 15 years, free for the taking. I did buy the grip cap and the butt plate, good set of buck bros. chisels, emory cloth,bottle of tru-oil, and some oil hardening tool steel to make checkering tools from, otherwise it's mostly my time it cost me.
Posted By: lovemy99 Re: my custom 99 pics - 12/14/09
what did you start with? Looks to be a post mil E with the tang safety?

Its really a beautiful gun...very nicely done!!

Any chance your father wants to sell any of that old junk wood???? smile

All joking aside I would be interested in buying a blank from you if you have more...PM me

it is in fact an e-model, with lever safety. the figuring in the wood comes from the crotch at the top of the log. I'm looking into getting more wood from a friend who has logged a big tract of walnut, but unfortunately it takes years for that stuff to be slabbed and properly dried
Posted By: diamondjim Re: my custom 99 pics - 12/14/09
Welcome and what a beautiful looking 99. Very nice and thanks for the pic. Jim
Posted By: Joe Re: my custom 99 pics - 12/14/09