Home
Posted By: pacecars What sight II - 01/10/13
I didn't want to clutter up the original post so here goes. This sight came on the rifle when I bought it.
Left side: [Linked Image]

Right side: [Linked Image]

Posted By: BrentD Re: What sight II - 01/11/13
That sure looks like a near virgin MVA midrange vernier. BTW, it seems to be set at 0.32" if you are curious but are not familiar with reading vernier scales.

Excellent sight

Brent
Posted By: pacecars Re: What sight II - 01/11/13
Thanks Brent. I am still learning them. I had Ron Heilman one on my first Hartford that I regrettably sold before becoming familiar with it. I have MLV's book that explains them pretty well.
If I wanted to sell the rear sight (and the front globe for that matter) what would be a good and fair price to ask? I am going to put a penny front sight on and go the Bagwell route and use the barrel sight.
If I keep it I thought about taking the eye piece off but when I did it gives a nice big hole but I don't think it works too well with the full buckhorn rear.
Go to montanavintagearms.com and confirm that you have a 107 or 108 model and see what they are worth new. Then price it accordingly. That looks like "as new" to me, so maybe 75% of new would be a good asking price? Front globe depends. With a level or not matters to many.

I'd stick with that particular tang sight however, though I've been told it doesn't work very well. A whole lotta dead critters disagree however... smile smile
Good point. Thinking I probably ought to keep it in case I do get to play at long range somewhere. Most hunting shots around here are under 150 yards.
It is an excellent sight for hunting or informal target shooting. It will probably not reach past ~8-900 yds, and it is suboptimal as a competition sight, but otherwise it is hard to beat.

Brent
Posted By: Kurt71 Re: What sight II - 01/11/13
Brent.

I can reach 1000 with my MVA mid range with the .44-90 bn.