Home
Posted By: AZBob What to look for in a used Jeep - 09/26/13
I'm just beginning to keep my eyes open for a used Jeep Wrangler, primarily for occasional use at a summer cabin in the mountains on dirt roads and trails in the area. Probably wouldn't be doing very extreme stuff in it. I'd like it to have an automatic transmission to make it usable by family members who don't drive manual transmissions.

Because of the limited use it will get, I'm looking to stay on the low end of the pricing scale, and based on my initial research, it seems like model years 1993-1997 can be in my price range. Are there any years or engines that are favored or should be avoided? Any other things I should look for? I've got a lot of time to look for the right one. Thanks for your input.
4.0 inline 6, the little four cylinder just doesn't have the power, and teach those family members to drive a manual
plus 1 on the 4.0 in line six and tranny,have a 93 with 160k all ranch use cant break it, we call it the bone collector. rio7
The 4.0L 6 is low on power, but the 4 is WAY worse!!! I guess I've been spoiled by my V8 CJs.
I wouldn't go older than 97 if price is close. There was a redesign that year with major improvements. Check the axle ratio if possible. They made a lot with 3.07 gears back then. I'm not sure what the other options were, but somehing with a 3.55 or 3.73 would be far better.

I've had both the 4.0 I-6 and the 2.5 4 cylinder. The 4 cylinder isn't that bad for a lot of uses. It ain't gonna be fast on the open road, especially on inclines in mountains. But they came with 4.10 gears. In town, or offroad they are actually better in many ways. Fuel mileage is about the same, but you can often find 4 cylinder vehicles cheap. Either engine will last a long time.

Get the manual and make everyone learn how to drive it. Especially with the lower powered engines.
Originally Posted by AZBob