Home
Posted By: Fotis 210 Berger for elk?? - 10/13/21
A buddy I know has developed a load with the 210 Berger at 2950 fps that shoots lights out in his 300. Honestly my experience with Berger has not been all that great although they did the job. I never use them on elk so I can't give him any input. Does anybody here have any experience with them on big animals. This is the bullet he's using

https://www.midwayusa.com/product/1076528197
Posted By: 2five7 Re: 210 Berger for elk?? - 10/13/21
I've got lots of experiences with Bergers on Elk, from 6.5 140 gr up to .338 300 grain. The 6.5/150, 7mm/180, and .30/215 are my favorites. Never had a "failure", all bulls dead and accounted for, most of them went down almost immediately.
Posted By: Fotis Re: 210 Berger for elk?? - 10/13/21
With the aforementioned bullets??? I'm asking because the ones that he loaded up are 210 Target bullets not the vld hunting
Posted By: 805 Re: 210 Berger for elk?? - 10/13/21
Fotis

The target version works very well. IMO it seems to hold together a bit better especially the core/shank. Your buddy should have no problem destroying vitals on an elk.
Posted By: harleyguy02 Re: 210 Berger for elk?? - 10/13/21
I would take Berger word that these are great for paper target and larger varmints...

No way I would use this on an Elk.. These are NOT hunting bullets.. We live in a world where we have tons of bullets to choose from. Why would anyone use a frangible bullet on an Elk?? Honestly, it doesn't seen ethical to me.
Posted By: 805 Re: 210 Berger for elk?? - 10/13/21
Originally Posted by harleyguy02
I would take Berger word that these are great for paper target and larger varmints...

No way I would use this on an Elk.. These are NOT hunting bullets.. We live in a world where we have tons of bullets to choose from. Why would anyone use a frangible bullet on an Elk?? Honestly, it doesn't seen ethical to me.

How many elk have you personally killed with a Berger bullet?