Home
Ok, first off, I'm not going elk hunting with a .260 Rem. What I am trying to do is suggest an accurate, flat shooting handy little rifle for a buddy of mine for Mt.goats, dall sheep, black bear and up to caribou in Alaska. The reason I'm asking here is well, if it will work on an elk it will do great on the animals mentioned. I have no experience with the .260 so I would like some first hand accounts on it's performance. I've read a great deal about it and it sounds good but I'd rather here from someone who's BT/DT. thanks
I'd use it w/confidence to sane ranges - 300-400 yds, IF the shooter will put the bullet thru vitals, using a good bullet esp. in 129-140 grain. Many bullets will work very well, but a 130 Accubond is a great place to start IME.

Might go w/a 140 Partition on the bear, if not the wonderful penetrating 130 TTSX Barnes. A 120 Barnes TSX is also a very good bullet IMHO for large game, proven on larger game by a member here who took it to Africa w/120 TSX IIRC.

It's enough gun, IMHO for all those, assuming shot placement w/a decent bullet.

I heard someone over at nosler tipped over a few moose it seems using 120 Ballistic Tips thru heart area. Accubond, Barnes, and Partitions will cut thru deeper where needed to reach vitals.
I've never shot an elk with a 260, but have shot both Kudu and Eland with a 6.5x55. An Eland is bigger/tougher than most elk that I've seen, so if you are shooting a properly constructed bullet and can hit your POA, you should be OK. The smallest cartridge that I've used to shoot elk was a 7x57 and that elk died within a few steps.

Jeff
Should work about like the 7mm-08 or .308 Win, both of which work.

I'd take it over a .243 Win any time and the .243 Win has dropped a lot of elk.

I'd have no hesitation taking either of my .260 Remingtons with 140 gr. Nosler Partitions after elk. As also suggested the 120 or 130 TTSX bullets should do well also.
two-sick-steed...

[Linked Image]