Home
Posted By: bwinters Giardiasis - 10/30/13
Wikipedia defines Giardiasis as "popularly known as beaver fever [1] � is a parasitic disease caused by the flagellate protozoan Giardia lamblia (also sometimes called Giardia intestinalis and Giardia duodenalis).[2] The giardia organism inhabits the digestive tract of a wide variety of domestic and wild animal species, as well as humans." Also "Symptoms include loss of appetite, diarrhea, hematuria (blood in urine), loose or watery stool, stomach cramps, upset stomach, projectile vomiting (uncommon), bloating, excessive gas, and burping (often sulfurous). Symptoms typically begin one to two weeks after infection and may wane and reappear cyclically."

Especially like the projectile vomiting part but am glad to report I didn't have any vomiting. The short version is that it sucks - bad.

Being a hydrologist by profession and having tested alot of surface water, I know what's in it. I NEVER drink surface water without treating it in some fashion - boiling, chemical, filter. Many times filter and boil. I know the ugly stuff in water.

I still somehow managed to acquire the fuzzy, cute little Giardia protozoa. The reason for the post is to pass along why/how I think I acquired it. I think it came from eating snow, alot of snow. The day of, and the next day after I shot my bull, I ran low on water both days. I supplemented with eating snow at every stop. I'll bet I never do that again. I'm the only one in our group to get Giardia sickness, and I was the only one eating snow. We keep a bottle of sanitizer on the table in our tent and use it religiously so have ruled out other forms of contacting intestinal material.

The only other source is the elk I shot. I do not gut animals I'm quartering so no intestinal contents were involved. I'm sure I could have somehow touched some of its feces but don't recall any.