Home
Posted By: dogwater Montana snowfall - 10/18/17
I went out scouting on Saturday 10/14. There was 12-16 inches of snow at the top of my hunting area. It isn't that high, maybe 7000-7200 feet. I have been hunting here for over 30 years and I haven't seen this Mich snow this early in the season before. Could be in for a good hunting season but a tuff winter.
Posted By: DLALLDER Re: Montana snowfall - 10/18/17
Dogwater, I hope you were near Plains!!
Posted By: dogwater Re: Montana snowfall - 10/18/17
Actually from there but haven't lived or hunted there for 30+ years
Posted By: irfubar Re: Montana snowfall - 10/18/17
12-16 inches? hell I have seen two+ plus feet on opening day in the Beartooth Mtns in 1997
How does 1997 in the beartooths compare to the same place today? I wasn't commenting on the deepest snowfall anywhere or any elevation or the deepest snow I have seen. I was talking about observations on one spot for over 30 years. It's the deepest I have seen there at this time of year.
Posted By: BWalker Re: Montana snowfall - 10/18/17
It's got to be melting fast. It was nearly 80 in Billings today.
Posted By: irfubar Re: Montana snowfall - 10/18/17
Originally Posted by dogwater
How does 1997 in the beartooths compare to the same place today? I wasn't commenting on the deepest snowfall anywhere or any elevation or the deepest snow I have seen. I was talking about observations on one spot for over 30 years. It's the deepest I have seen there at this time of year.

Sorry should have put a smiley face afterwards.
Posted By: hanco Re: Montana snowfall - 10/18/17
Wow snow already.
Posted By: Brad Re: Montana snowfall - 10/18/17
Originally Posted by hanco
Wow snow already.

We've bet getting snow on and off for a month. Not unusual. Nice and warm the last few days putting a dent in it, which is fine by me.
I'm excited about it. I am used to spending the first few weeks without much snow. I think it will be a good season.