Home
Posted By: Georat My New Old Ruger No. 1 - 09/08/20
I bought a VERY used Ruger No. 1 off of Gunbroker a while back and had my gunsmith refurbish it. The stock was pretty beat up with a good bit of finish missing and numerous dents and scratches but it is one of the Bicentennial rifles in .270 and the bore looked good. My gunsmith refinished the stock, cleaned up the checkering, color-cased the receiver, quarter rib, scope rings and grip cap, and added an ebony fore-end tip. I picked it up last week and worked up some loads over this past weekend. It shoots 150 gr. Ballistic Tips into 1" at 100 yards. I posted some before and after photos in the Image Gallery and am hoping that the link I inserted below works (but this is my first time trying to put photos onto this site so the odds are that I screwed something up).

www.24hourcampfire.com/ubbthreads/ubbthreads.php/galleries/15205848/updated-ruger-no-1#Post15205848]Before and after photos[/url]
Posted By: LEADMINER Re: My New Old Ruger No. 1 - 09/08/20
I was able to see them in gallery...looks really nice.
Posted By: cv540 Re: My New Old Ruger No. 1 - 09/08/20
Boy that looks nice
Posted By: Georat Re: My New Old Ruger No. 1 - 09/09/20
Thank y’all, I appreciate it
Posted By: tmitch Re: My New Old Ruger No. 1 - 09/09/20
Now THAT'S how a No.1 should look! Very nice!

[Linked Image]
Posted By: pabucktail Re: My New Old Ruger No. 1 - 09/09/20
That’s classy! Go kill something with it!
pabucktail - That is the plan! Just waiting for the season to open
Posted By: Flyer01 Re: My New Old Ruger No. 1 - 09/09/20
That's drop dead gorgeous
Posted By: pete53 Re: My New Old Ruger No. 1 - 09/09/20
very nice
Posted By: War_Eagle Re: My New Old Ruger No. 1 - 09/09/20
Looks like he also inletted a swivel stud and added a Trop safety. Very nice indeed. Would you mind sharing the gunsmith who did the work? I may have to reach out to him for some work!
War_eagle - I’ll PM you his info