Home
I'm new to the Ruger # 1 arena. I just bought a Ruger 1A in 6.5 Creedmoor. I'm having to crane forward a lot with Leupold 1 x 4 I mounted on the rifle. Do I need to invest in a set of Leupold extended rings? I have not tried a different scope yet.

Thanks,
Reed LeCheminant
Welcome aboard Reed.

It sounds like you have a nice rifle. I think the 6.5s are very versatile. Please let us know how it shoots.

Personally, I don't like the extended rings. I have a set but don't use them, there are others that do. You'll have to decide that one.
Try a Leupold VX Ii 2x7 or a 6X 42. They should give plenty of room for backward placement of the scope. Many scopes won't including lots of Leuopolds. I have the same problem and the majority of my 36 #1s wear those scopes.

1B
I use an extended rear, standard front, on two of my #1As, both with older Leupold M8 4x28 scopes for the same reason you're writing here. Others have no trouble, but I've found I crawl stocks less than I used to. The extended ring was perfect, except for adding a couple of ounces to the weight of the gun.
Congrats on a great purchase. I have NO problem with the extended rings except they are medium height. If I were using a scope with a 40mm(+) objective I'd use them. I prefer the 36mm objective and use a Leupold 6x36 for weight and the smaller profile with low rings. This works well for me.

[Linked Image]

Leupold 3x, Leupold ultra lows I believe?

[Linked Image]

Same rifle, same rings, Leupold 3-9x40. Just cleared the sight mounted as such. Never did shoot it with this configuration, but didn't care for it.

[Linked Image]

Oh, like how it's set-up now by the way with the 3x
Burris rings with 1-4 Leupold scope. Works well.

[Linked Image]
This #1B .300 is wearing a Vari-X III 3.5x10, and one extended ring. Personally I like them:

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]