Home
Posted By: UNCCGrad GSP for waterfowl? - 08/01/18
Does anyone have a German shorthair that they use for waterfowl? Do they willingly retrieve in cold water without refusal? Upland hunting here in my part of NC is pretty much non-existent other than preserve birds which gets expensive and quite boring sometimes. I'm looking to replace my lab that I lost nearly 2 years ago that was one of the best I have ever shared a blind with but due to the excessive shedding, I don't want another lab. We have 2 young boys, 3 and 5 that need a companion to pal around in our 4 acres of woods with. Whatever we choose it needs to be good with kids and do well inside. I waterfowl hunt around 20-30 days per year along with several dove hunts throughout the season so that will be the main hunting a dog will see. I have really enjoyed the GSPs that I have hunted over but it was preserve birds and not waterfowl so I have no direct experience on how they would handle our typical winter conditions (upper 20s for lows and around 50 for highs). Last year was brutal for cold, the coldest I have ever seen for an extended period and hunting a short coated dog like a GSP wouldn't have been a wise choice.

I've looked into Boykins but getting a good one that will hunt seems to be a crap shoot. I considered GWP/Drathaars but local breeders are hard to come by in my limited research. I'm probably going to contact my nearest NAVHD chapter to see if they can refer me to any breeders in my area that have planned litters of GSP or GWP/Drathaar. Any info on the breed and how well they do for waterfowl is greatly appreciated.
Posted By: battue Re: GSP for waterfowl? - 08/01/18
There is a reason and purpose for labs and going for repeated swims in the 20's and brutal cold are two of them. They are also reasons you will find very few using a GSP or Boykin for either. If I was a breeder of either, and knew you were going to use them in those conditions, I wouldn't sell you one.