Home
Posted By: loneguitar Refinishing a Pre64 stock - 10/14/21
I recently picked up a pre64 .270 fwt, that had the stock cut to accommodate a recoil pad. Since that’s the case I figure the “value” of the stock is diminished. The finish in the stock is worn and could stand to be refinished. Anything I need to be aware of before I try and tackle it myself? I refinished a BLR previously, stripping the poly off with a chemical stripper, so I have some experience. Or would I be better served selling/trading this stock for an uncut stock?

Don’t remove any wood.
I’d prefer an uncut stock.
Posted By: gnoahhh Re: Refinishing a Pre64 stock - 10/14/21
Were it mine, since the value of the stock is already wrecked via the recoil pad I would refinish it to suit me. Might as well plan on freshening the checkering while you're at it too. Worn old checkering juxtaposed to a pretty new fresh finish just makes the whole project look half done.

Bear in mind if it has a factory glossy barrier finish on it, it is undoubtedly lacquer. Winchester stopped varnishing stuff long before that FWT was built - if originality in that regard is a consideration. Again, were it me I would simply strip it and varnish it with multiple coats of gloss varnish rubbed out between coats until grain fill is achieved, and then knock the gloss off and wax it to provide a relatively thin barrier finish not unlike the factory lacquer.

If the condition of the blued steel parts warrants it, perhaps I would be tempted to scrounge up a nice original stock to dress it up for "Sunday go to meeting" and put the redone stock on it for everyday work.
Originally Posted by gnoahhh
Were it mine, since the value of the stock is already wrecked via the recoil pad I would refinish it to suit me. Might as well plan on freshening the checkering while you're at it too. Worn old checkering juxtaposed to a pretty new fresh finish just makes the whole project look half done.