-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Kahuna
OP Offline
Campfire Kahuna
I have an older camp trailer with a 2 way fridge. For camping, I just turn off the fridge and propane in case of an accident and it stays cold long enough to get there. However, on long trips, especially in hot weather, I need to keep the fridge running. I can't use the propane because the wind blows it out. No amount of wind shielding has worked so far.

Can I install an inverter to run it from the batteries while on the road? It requires 300 watts of 120v. The batteries will be be continually charging from the truck's alternator. The RV batteries are 2 large heavy duty 6v golf cart batteries, plenty of reserve power. I would put a switch in the line to shut it off so 120v can't get to the batteries when I'm plugged in to that.

Anything I should know? I'm no expert at this.

“In a time of deceit telling the truth is a revolutionary act.”
― George Orwell

It's not over when you lose. It's over when you quit.
GB1

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
I think you got this.

Paul

"I'd rather see a sermon than hear a sermon".... D.A.D.

Trump Won!, Sandmann Won!, Rittenhouse Won!, Suck it Liberal Fuuktards.

molɔ̀ːn labé skýla

Campfire Savant
Campfire Savant
I took mine out, put a regular fridge in its place. I don’t like the propane on if I’m sleeping in it. I use electric heat also.

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
In trying to fashion shields for the refrigerator flame you may actually be causing a vacuum in the compartment which is sucking the flame out. If the access door is original, it should stay lit while going down the road. I have two travel trailers, oldest is a 2000 model and they both work fine.

I hate inverters. I’d use a small generator before I’d do that.

Last edited by curdog4570; 09/20/18.

Never holler whoa or look back in a tight place
L
las Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
L