Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
pick Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Ken I hope the title not to techinical. The question I have is..
<br>
<br>I have noticed that many a time a high SD bullet for caliber seems to be very efficent in reaching the 2000 to 2400 fps range. This seems easly done with pressures in the 35 to 45,000 CUP range and barrels of 20 inches or so. To get any more velocity out of these type bullets the pressures go up in a hurry for little gain and long barrels seem to add little. I have noticed this seems to be aroung the .280 and more SD for many diameters., ie. the 175 in 7x57mm, 160 in 6.5x55mm, 200 in 8x57mm, 250 in 338-06 and such.
<br>
<br>I am no expert in this area, but it seems you end up with a high momentum bullet with moderate working pressures and proven on game preformance. One of the reasons I bring this up is the 220 Howell with high SD bullets such as the 75g spitzers and the milatry 5.56 with 69g bullets. Am I imanaging something here or is there really a 'ballistic' area here of the most for the least? Sorry if the question is not framed exactly right, but that is why I was hoping to get some education from your experience in this area.

..pick..
GB1

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Don't feel bad. You're not alone. I know only too well what it's like to wonder about something yet not be able to wrestle the wonder into the form of a clear question. I can sense your question only in a general way, so I'm not sure how best to try to answer it. So let me come at this from my own angle, and you look to see whether this answers your wondering.
<br>
<br>First, let's recognize and shed the false, vain idea (which sales and magazine hype has set like granite in our understanding) that muzzle velocity indicates performance and provides a valid index for measuring and comparing performance.
<br>