Print Thread
Hop To
J
JDK Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
J
Went well. 48 inches and bottomed out our 25 pound scale. Released to fight another day. Had 1 other non-picture worthy fish. Not bad for a few hours.

[Linked Image]

GB1

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Nice first fish of the season! I'm just getting started with ol' Esox this year. I've bought a lower end muskie rod, and some tackle. About the only thing I don't have right now is appropriate line for my baitcasters and some good leaders. Any helpful hints for a newbie?

molɔ̀ːn labé skýla
J
JDK Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
J
There are far better muskie fishermen on this site than me but what we have learned in the last few years.

Keep a record of where you see fish. Hit those high percentage spots regularly throughout the day.
We keep our tackle pretty simple. We have a few stick baits, spinners, and soft plastics.
We use fluorocarbon leaders, no wire.
When the fish are really finicky and just following, we really down size our tackle. Spinning rods with 15 pound braid and J 11 Rapalas have accounted for some of our biggest fish.

and finally

Don't get frustrated: They are one of the most exasperating fish I have ever fished for.

B
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
B
Nice!

The 280 Remington is overbore.

The 7 Rem Mag is over bore.
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Originally Posted by JDK
There are far better muskie fishermen on this site than me but what we have learned in the last few years.

Keep a record of where you see fish. Hit those high percentage spots regularly throughout the day.
We keep our tackle pretty simple. We have a few stick baits, spinners, and soft plastics.
We use fluorocarbon leaders, no wire.
When the fish are really finicky and just following, we really down size our tackle. Spinning rods with 15 pound braid and J 11 Rapalas have accounted for some of our biggest fish.

and finally