Hop To
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
J
jbmi Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
J
How many of you are working in the field of your college degree?
I graduated 45 years ago and until I retired I worked in the field of my degree.
One of my 3 sons work in his degree field, but the other two have degrees and work in area's totally different from what they went to school for.
The reason I ask is the place I normally go for coffee every morning has a great guy working the counter, early 30's loves his job but has a degree in psychology, spent 4 years and some good money and never used it.
So if you had to do it over, would you change your majors ?

"The older I get, the better I was"
GB1

U
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
U
Dad-yes
mom-yes
FIL-yes
MIL-yes

me- yes
wife-yes
sister1-yes
sister2-yes
SIL1-yes
SIL2-yes
BIL1-yes
BIL2-yes
BIL3-yes
BIL4-no

so yeah, 13/14 in my fam are in their field

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
I graduated with a degree in IT just before the advent of Microsoft and home computers so I've been very lucky to be able to stay employed in the field and now have a decent amount of experience to stay in management.

My challenge now is to stay relevant in a field where you constantly have to stay up to date.

I think the world is different now than say the 1970's.

While about 35% of people go to college now, back then it was even less and I think just being a college graduate, regardless of your degree , meant you would find meaningful employment.

Now I don't think you can go to college and just ride out that liberal arts degree - the high employment degrees are science, medical and engineering.

Even lawyers are having trouble finding work.

Last edited by KFWA; 11/21/15.

have you paid your dues, can you moan the blues, can you bend them guitar strings
S
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
S
Nothing trumps experience, but truth be told a degree certainly is a step in the right direction and will likely get your foot in the door.

S