Print Thread
Hop To
D
darick Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
D
I'm fairly new to reloading and having some trouble with my 243. I can't get some of my shells to fit in my gun, I can't close the bolt. The brass fits in fine, but once I put a bullet it in it won't fit in. Some of them will fit in fine and shoot great and others won't. They measure exactly the same, from brass to oal. What am I doing wrong or what is wrong?

GB1

P
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
P
Check the length.

Mark the shoulder with a sharpie and see if it is hitting in the chamber.

Last edited by plainsman456; 12/02/15.
D
darick Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
D
After inspecting the ones that won't chamber closely there is a slight crease at the shoulder. Am I not setting up my seating die correctly

B
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
B
Originally Posted by darick
After inspecting the ones that won't chamber closely there is a slight crease at the shoulder. Am I not setting up my seating die correctly

Bingo....We have a winner..

Originally Posted by raybass
I try to stick with the basics, they do so well. Nothing fancy mind you, just plain jane will get it done with style.
Originally Posted by Pharmseller
You want to see an animal drop right now? Shoot him in the ear hole.

BSA MAGA
M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
If you are crimping, you could be swelling the neck or riveting the shoulder. If not, he's probably right.

Originally Posted by bsa1917hunter

The solution would be to turn out your seating die in a small amount at a time until they chamber. 1/8 or 1/4 of a turn should do it.

Edit: I blew it. I should know better than to post late at night.

Last edited by MichiganScott; 12/03/15. Reason: I blew it

molɔ̀ːn labé skýla
IC B2

C
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
C
Originally Posted by MichiganScott
If you are crimping, you could be swelling the neck or riveting the shoulder. If not, he's probably right.