Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
R
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
R
We're in the same situation and not sure whether to use excluders. We've decided to use an excluder in one hive and not in the other and see what happens. If we get some brood in our honey super well just cut it out prior to extraction.

GB1

T
Campfire Regular
Online Content
Campfire Regular
T
Requeen both the original and new hive.

mannlakeltd.com has free shipping over $100

Last edited by T Bone; 03/08/16.
T
Campfire Regular
Online Content
Campfire Regular
T
oh yeah...one rookie mistake I made when requeening the first time.. I located the queen, then squashed her with some needle nose pliers. In that split second of killing her, she sent out the "kill him" order. Panic set in watching half the hive empty and start stinging me.

Remove the queen away from the hive, then squash her.

S
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
S
Originally Posted by milespatton
OK bee people. I am new to this and have no bees until April, but I have been reading a lot and have lots of questions that will be asked as time moves on. Today the question is, Queen excluder, good idea/bad idea? On the surface it sounds good, but after reading some about it, most are saying it is bad for your bees. So without it, what keeps your honey super from having the queen laying eggs there? I know that I am dumb as a rock, but bear with me. miles

I used exluders when I started but it and tossed them. If you wait to put on honey supers until there is a bridge of capped honey at the top of the hive the queen will stay down where she belongs.

The first time I shot myself in the head...

Meniere's Sucks Big Time!!!
Campfire Ranger
Online Content
Campfire Ranger
If you wait to put on honey supers until there is a bridge of capped honey at the top of the hive the queen will stay down where she belongs.